The Lux Series (and I don’t mean the soap)

Oh.My.Alien.Babies.Everywhere!!!!

Five days ago, I thought aliens were these weird, creepy things with bulging eyeballs, extruded brains, big scary guns that could blast you into next week and a highly-disturbing desire to Take over the world.

alien shhoting

And then I read the Lux series by Jennifer L. Armentrout and found out aliens actually look like this:

daemon

and this:

daemon_black___lux_series_by_sayara_s-d6vtc6c

And so I reiterate Oh.My.Alien.Babies everywhere!!!

I want to keep this sort-of-book-review as spoiler free as possible because the Lux series is just too amazing to not read for yourself. It consists of mainly 5 books, Obsidian, Onyx, Opal, Origin and Opposition (in that order) and there are a couple of novellas too and some bonus scenes on the amazing Wattpad platform. Every single one of these books is absolutely amazing. Jennifer totally outdid herself. Whenever I read a book, I always think woow this was a great book, maybe I can try and write something just as good but when I read the Lux series my first thought was ‘Okay, I’m putting my pen and paper down and never writing again’. It was that good!

1. Obsidian (Lux #1)

obsidian

This was absolutely amazing, so well detailed, with impeccable coherence and I just fell in love with all the characters (well except for the bad guys but no-one’s really meant to love those anyway). I was laughing like 90 percent of the time and on the edge of my seat throughout the whole book. I just couldn’t put it down! Katy and Daemon (the two main characters) were absolutely amazing. I loved their relationship and interactions and who wouldn’t love Daemon when he looks like:

daemon

 

#sigh. Okay I’m done drooling….No wait, one more minute. ………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………

Okay now I’m done. Those eyes though:

fangirl

And they look soooo perfect together with the beautiful Katy. I shall not reveal her face just yet because the cover for this book didn’t have her face either (and also because I’m still swooning over Daemon haha).

In this first installment of the series we are introduced to Katy Swartz, (from whose POV the story is told) a 17 year old girl who just moved to West Virginia with her mum, 3 years after her dad died so they could have a new start. All’s good and dandy until she meets Daemon Black, her neighbor, who is a monumental jerk and does everything he can to keep her from befriending his twin sister Dee Black but, well Katy is tough and she holds her own against the jerk-face (so there’s a lot of banter between the two and its hilarious!!!!). Eventually even Daemon starts to warm up to Katy (well lukewarm but still…) Anyway, the story progresses, Katy finds out that the neighbors are actually aliens (hey isn’t there a tv series about aliens called Neighbors?). Anyway, yes jerk-face is an Alien, his sister is an alien, a bunch of other kids from school are aliens too!

Ehrmagerd!!!! (p.s this is not a spoiler, it’s in the book blurb).

Anyway…the rest of the story is about how Katy deals with this discovery and the consequences that she, Daemon and everyone else faces. At some point things really spiraled out of control and there was a lot of tension but the good guys won in the end.

Or did they? You’ll have to read it to find out.

Overall, beautiful cover, beautiful story and a great ending too. Aaannnnndddd that isn’t even the best part. Jennifer added bonus scenes at the end of the book all told in Daemon’s P.O.V!!!! Like how much more awesome can this woman get!!!!! I loved it, absolutely loved it. Anyway, moving on…

2.Onyx (Lux #2)

onyx

I read several reviews of Obsidian (the first book) where readers complained that the book was a rip off of  Twilight, the first book of the Twilight series by Stephenie Meyer. Sure there are a couple of similarities but in the grand scheme of things, they don’t count too much. That being said, JLA redeemed herself with Onyx. It was even better than Obsidian.

Onyx kicks of a couple of days after the end of Obsidian from what I gathered and is mostly the story of Daemon trying to woo the lovely Katy. She’s resistant to his charms of course but deep down she likes him too, I mean who wouldn’t (have you seen Daemon?). The two of them are bound by a secret that they are keeping from everyone else and it is the main reason why Katy is warding off his charms. Katy has changed in an unexpected way. More secrets are revealed, shocking discoveries are made and the stakes are higher than before. There’s a lot of humor, horror, betrayal, you name it and the book ends with a shocking turn of events.

3. Opal (Lux #3)

Katy and Daemon are finally, officially together in this book (Yaay!) but a lot has changed. They’ve lost someone close to them and the sting of betrayal lingers over them and the guilt drives them to do the most unthinkable things ever heard of. They don’t really have a choice, damned if they do and damned if they don’t. But as long as they are together, they can face anything, right? What could possibly go wrong?

Short answer: Everything.

This book has the Mother of all cliffhangers!!!!!!!

Seriously I almost died when I got to the end!

I just stared blankly at it wondering if someone had torn out some pages before I read them because the book could not have ended where it did but alas, the book was in perfect condition and yes that was the actual ending of the book. I didn’t put Opal down right till the end and when I got to the end I just couldn’t stop. I had to get to Book 4 or I was going to go mental.

4. Origin (Lux #4)

origin

The fourth book is told from both Katy and Daemon’s P.O.V. Everything fell apart at the end of book 3. Things didn’t go according to plan (they never do anyway) and Daemon is ready to burn down the whole world to save his one true love and no one can stop him (swoooon). They are in the belly of the beast and the horrors they go through and see are enough to scar them for three lifetimes. More lives are lost and they weigh heavily on them as they struggle to survive and just make it to the next day.

And then JLA had to do it again.

Origin had the ANCESTOR of all cliffhangers!!!

Like seriously, ohmygosh!

And naturally I raced on to Book 5.

5. Opposition (Lux #5)

oppposition

I read Opposition a lot slower than the other books because I really didn’t want the series to end. I was torn between wanting to know what the hell comes after that massive cliffhanger and trying to make the series go on forever.

The last book did not disappoint. It was told from dual P.O.V’s as well and the whole time I read this I was just a bundle of emotions. Half the time I was rocking in a corner too anxious to continue and the other half I was on the edge of my bed devouring every word faster than the speed of a Luxen (haha, see what I did there).

The world has changed. Friends have become enemies and enemies have become allies in a brutal war. Of course there’s an alien invasion (what alien doesn’t have that on their mind, hot or slimey-looking), there’s action in almost every page of this book but also some bow-chicka-pow-wow moments so overall a great package.

The ending takes a turn for the worst and I really freaked out for a bit. I don’t trust authors very much now thanks to a certain book where the author killed off someone I got very attached to and scarred me for life. But JLA was not cruel and everything worked out for the best. A beautiful ending to a beautiful series.

So sign me up for an alien invasion, I’m totally game as long as they look like Daemon haha. I loved this series and I’m obsessed with it. It’ll take me a while to get over it especially when awesome bonuses like a 3-in-1 book (Oblivion) with the first 3 books told in Daemon’s P.O.V exist.

oblivion

Whaaaaaaattttt? Color me Obsessed because I am reading those 3 books from cover to cover even though it will basically be the same story I just read but from a different P.O.V.

Yep, it’s just that good.

I realize this sort-of-review will quite possibly be useless haha because I din’t get into too much detail. But I promise if you read this series you’ll never regret it. It is officially my number 1 favorite YA series and that’s saying something considering how much I looooved the Divergent series.

Leave a Reply

